A Kickstart for Ryan Molloy’s Suntan… rallying the troops!

I’m going to break tradition with this post and give a shoutout to a Kickstarter campaign, something I’ve not done before here. It’s by no means the first of its kind, and we all know that we can sometimes lack the spare money to support whatever project we might fancy, but this is a campaign that I feel deserves a special mention and all the support it can get!

Though I am very late to the party in the grand scheme of being a fan of his, Ryan Molloy is a performer that is very dear to my heart; last year it was third time lucky for me when I took a trip to Broadway and finally managed to see him as Frankie Valli in Jersey Boys, the role that most would probably know him for and won him a ton of awards. It was a dream come true and one of the most amazing theatrical experiences I’ve ever had.

3rd Time Lucky! With Ryan after watching him on Broadway last summer

3rd Time Lucky! With Ryan after watching him on Broadway last summer

I’ve also had the pleasure of seeing him as Horace in Theatre Royal Stratford East’s Fings Ain’t Wot They Used T’ be where he got to flex his comedy muscles and though his appearances were sparse, in my opinion he stole the show.

With Ryan post 'Fings...' in June last year, the very first time I saw him live!

With Ryan post ‘Fings…’ in June last year, the very first time I saw him live!

Not content with just having a musical theatre string to his bow however, Ryan is also an incredibly gifted song writer; his album Turn on The Night to name just one is a staple of my Itunes library that always brings a smile to my face. Now, Ryan and his Suntan comrade Douglas Horner are working on his latest release Ryan Molloy’s Suntan, an album of original songs that would be the culmination of a ten year dream.

And that’s where you guys come in. Ryan is currently raising funds to complete studio recording and launch the album at a venue somehere in London this August. I have sadly yet to see Suntan live, but I do know that their music is fresh, funky and unlike anything I’ve ever heard. I’m not usually a fan of funk music, but Ryan’s energy and enthusiasm is infectious, and being a fan of his voice already I have become utterly smitten. If you want to hear some original tunes that are quite simply a heck of a lot of fun, this might be the campaign for you. Some of the rewards on offer for your generous pledges of support are insane, including a spray tan (yes, you read that right!), so I urge you all to check out the campaign here, and if you feel so inclined, give what you can.

Though I’m a fan of many performers, I feel I can count on one hand the ones that are very special to my mind, and Ryan is one of those few. Not only do I think he’s incredibly talented, on both occasions I’ve had the pleasure of meeting him to date he’s been totally charming and good humoured in the face of my excitable babble. It’s a pleasure to support him, and I hope some of you feel the same!

Seriously, who could say no to supporting  this face?

Seriously, who could say no to supporting this face?

Leave a Reply

