Kerrie’s Fictional Favourites – The Opening Teaser…

Away from the theatre, I enjoy nothing more than curling up with a book; I can spend hours every day reading, and sometimes if I am really into a book I can stay up into the early hours and sacrifice my sleep. Throughout school and sixth form, English was always my favourite subject and the one I was best at, so it made complete and utter sense to me to study English Literature at university, and I have a BA and MA under my belt after four years. I have yet to take that major step in which my passion for books and writing becomes my career, but I’m working on it! That in mind, as this blog is usually theatre heavy I figured I’d let my other biggest passion out to play a little bit more and start a new feature where I talk about some of my favourite books, authors and fictional characters, and why they make my inner bookworm tick.

Recently, I was tagged by 2 friends on Facebook to name ten books that have stayed with me and affected me in some way, and I figured this list would be a good place to introduce this new area of my blogging. They didn’t have to be ‘great’ works of literature and you weren’t allowed to think too hard, and here’s the ten I came up with… counting a trilogy and collection of stories as one, forgive me for being a rebel! These aren’t in order of preference either, just as they came to mind.

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

Gone with The Wind – Margaret Mitchell

Coriolanus – William Shakespeare

The One Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson

Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Gone Girl Gillian Flynn

Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger

The Wind on Fire Trilogy – William Nicholson

The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

I’m going to be a bit of a tease and just leave the list here – come back over the next few weeks when each will have a post to themselves!

One thought on “Kerrie’s Fictional Favourites – The Opening Teaser…

  1. Pingback: Kerrie’s Fictional Favourites, Chapter One: The Book Thief | confessionsofa20somethingliteratureandmusicaljunkie

Leave a Reply

