Unleashing the music madness :D

Well so far, people have got a glimpse into my inner ‘literature junkie’ so I thought it’d be fun to introduce my other one, the music junkie, and tell you a bit about my tastes and favourite band.

I have pretty eclectic taste when it comes to music… the only genres I’m really not keen on in some shape or forms are RnB and Rap/Hip Hop. Film scores are an important part of my music library, especially the work of my favourite composers John Williams, Alexandre Desplat, Clint Mansell and Alan Menken(yes, I’m 20 and still love disney, problem?)

But the staple in my music collection is Rock. Though I’m a child of the 90’s, many of my favourite bands come from the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s, like Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, Queen and the Rolling Stones (to name but a few) and with only a couple of bands from recent years I am a big fan of today, I sometimes wish I’d been born in a different era!

There is however a  band who keeps me from entirely despairing at that fact: Duff Mckagan’s Loaded. For obvious reasons, the frontman and namesake will be familar to people, but Loaded probably won’t be. I’m aiming to change that 😀 Originally formed in 1999, the band currently have two albums under their belt (Dark Days and Sick) and one soon to be released which I’m super excited and fangirly over, The Taking, on April 19th. I was first introduced to the band in ’08, and have been hooked ever since. There are numerous reasons why I love them so much, the first being the style of their music – I love how they can go effortlessly from hard rock to a softer ballad, but still maintain the same key ingredients: great lyrics, killer riffs and a kick ass rythm section.

The second lies in both their on and off stage chemistry. They’re essentially just these four close friends who share a great sense of humour, boundless energy and enthusiasm brought together by their love of (and ability to play) great music. By my own experience of their live shows, this feeds into when they play to a crowd and makes for an awesome show 😀

The third is in the pure and simple fact that they are a lovely bunch of guys who really appreciate their fans. I’ve been lucky enough to hang out with them on three occasions so far, all of which have been great fun. They love a good laugh and I honestly could talk to them every day if I had the opportunity 🙂

I thought I’d do my bit as a loyal fan, so here’s a link their vid to ‘Dead Skin’, from the soon to come The Taking. enjoy!

Vocals/Rythym Guitar: Duff Mckagan

Lead Guitar: Mike Squires

Bass: Jeff Rouse

Drums: Isaac Carpenter

Leave a Reply

